Remembrance Day Concert

Michael Seal conductor
Guy Johnston cello

George Butterworth A Shropshire Lad
Elgar Cello Concerto
Vaughan Williams Symphony No 2 — ‘A London Symphony’

Michael Seal makes his St George’s debut with a Remembrance Day programme of English masterworks. The ravishing, lyrical romanticism of George Butterworth’s 1913 Rhapsody, A Shropshire Lad, leaves us wondering what might have been, but for the sniper’s bullet that claimed his life in the Battle of the Somme in 1916. Vaughan Williams dedicated his ‘London Symphony’ to Butterworth who was a close friend, while Elgar’s elegiac Cello
Concerto — written in the aftermath of the Great War — provides moments both of meditation and grandeur.

‘An impeccable soloist…’ GRAMOPHONE (ON GUY JOHNSTON) /@BHCOrchestra

Brandon Hill Chamber Orchestra

Saturday 11 November


£18, £15, £5 Students (plus fees), Free U18s

£1 administration fee charged per transaction plus £1 card transaction fee and 70p postage where applicable.

Recommended Age: 8+