Loading Events

William Goodchild conductor
Natalia Lomeiko violin

Borodin Polovtsian Dances
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No 1 in D
Borodin In The Steppes Of Central Asia
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 4 in F minor

Renowned Russian violinist Natalia Lomeiko performs Prokofiev’s ‘Violin Concerto No 1’, composed in 1917, the year of the Revolution. At times serene, at others fiery, it proved an immediate success. These contrasting emotions are reflected equally in Borodin’s two works: the ‘Polovtsian Dances’ progress from the softly lyrical to frenzied energy and back again; ‘In the Steppes of Central Asia’ depicts a desert caravan quietly travelling across deserted grassland. Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony exposes the turmoil within the composer’s troubled soul and crowns this all-Russian programme.

Pre-Concert Talk 6-30-7pm

There will be a talk about the works being performed given by Jonathan James in the Auditorium.
Entry free to ticket-holders.


‘Exquisite and Electrifying Performances’ BRISTOL POST


Bristol Metropolitan Orchestra / Natalia Lomeiko

Saturday 7 March


£15 (£14), £12 (£11), £8 (£6), £5 U16s (plus fees)

£1 administration fee charged per transaction plus £1 card transaction fee and 70p postage where applicable.