Loading Events

Tianyi Lu conductor
Benjamin Baker violin

Beethoven  Coriolan Overture, Op 62
Sibelius  Violin Concerto in D minor, Op 47
Brahms  Symphony No 1 in C minor, Op 68

As concertos go, they don’t come mightier than Sibelius’s Violin Concerto – it’s up there with the very greatest of masterpieces and is music that shakes the soul.  Stepping up to take on a violin part that grows ever more impassioned and demands increasing levels of virtuosity as it unfolds is Benjamin Baker, a prize winning graduate of the Yehudi Menuhin School and Royal College of Music.  A pause, and then the orchestra plunges into Brahms’s First Symphony, dubbed ‘Beethoven’s 10th’ a dynamic piece that sweeps you along towards its glorious and heroic conclusion.

‘Exquisite and Electrifying Performances’  BRISTOL POST


Bristol Metropolitan Orchestra

Saturday 11 March


£15 (£14), £12 (£11), £8 (£6), £5 U16s (plus fees)

£1 administration fee charged per transaction plus £1 card transaction fee and 70p postage where applicable.

Recommended age 8+