Loading Events

Music of Russia

William Goodchild conductor
Natalia Lomeiko violin

Tchaikovsky  Capriccio italien, Op 45
Borodin  Symphony No 2 in B minor
Shostakovich  Violin Concerto No 1, Op 99

Bristol Symphony Orchestra welcomes international violinist Natalia Lomeiko to perform Shostakovich’s intense Violin Concerto No 1, composed during 1947/8, a time of extreme censorship in Soviet Russia. The concerto remained unpublished until Stalin’s death in 1953, but it was well received at its first performance in 1955. Violinist, David Oistrach, who gave the world premier and was dedicatee, commented on the “depth of its artistic content”, with the violin part as a “pithy Shakespearean role.” Tchaikovsky’s cosmopolitan and tuneful Capriccio italien, and Borodin’s dramatic Symphony No 2 on Russian themes, both works of great passion and beauty, compliment the concerto.

‘Bristol Symphony Orchestra is a model of how successfully to give life to an orchestra.’  BRISTOL 24/7


Bristol Symphony Orchestra

Saturday 8 April


£17 (£15), £14 (£12), £12 (£10), £10 (£8), £5 U18s (plus fees)

£1 administration fee charged per transaction plus £1 card transaction fee and 70p postage where applicable.

Recommended age 8+