J.S. Bach arr. Roderick Williams Cello Suite No.3 in C minor: Bourée
James Sparks Bach and the Cosmos
J.S. Bach arr. Sitovestky Goldberg Variations

Alexandra Wood Director/Violin
Joely Koos Cello
James Sparks Mathematician

City of London Sinfonia performs alongside James Sparks, Professor of Mathematical Physics at the University of Oxford, at St George’s Bristol, in association with Bristol University and as part of the Orchestra’s Bach and the Cosmos University Tour.

Through music, visuals and numerical explanations, James Sparks and the Orchestra explore JS Bach’s most numerical piece, the Goldberg Variations; how Bach uses mathematical methodologies to expand musical subjects and exhaust all permutations of every theme in his 30 Variations.

@cityldnsinfonia  |  #BachandtheCosmos

Monday 15 October

Bach and the Cosmos

£15, £12, £10, £5 Students/U16

A £1 postage fee is charged where applicable

Book now