Barber Adagio for Strings
John Adams The Chairman Dances
Barber Knoxville: Summer of 1915
Gershwin An American in Paris
John Williams Star Wars Suite

Susanne Holmes Mezzo-soprano
Stefan Hofkes Conductor

Like an extra strong Americano, this concert is filled to the brim with some of the best music from across the pond.

Two offerings from Samuel Barber with his famous and poignant Adagio for Strings, and the lesser-known, but gloriously lush, rhapsody for voice and orchestra Knoxville: Summer of 1915 (set to words of James Agee), mix with the mesmerizing rhythmic drive of The Chairman Dances (Foxtrot for orchestra) by John Adams in the first half.

To follow, Gershwin’s irrepressibly jazzy An American in Paris and – for an out of this world finish – the epic music from Star Wars penned by John Williams.

Saturday 29 June

Bristol Concert Orchestra

£15, £12, £8, £2 off concessions

A £1 postage fee is charged where applicable

Recommended Age: 8+

Book now