Matthew Barley Cello
Stefan Hofkes Conductor

The rollicking overture to Colas Breugnon by Kabalevsky raises the curtain on this winterwarmer concert of Anglo-Russian greats. Walton’s Cello Concerto may be more lyrical, expressive and even introspective, but as Walton wrote to Piatigorsky (who had commissioned the work) ‘I think it’s the best of my three Concertos – but don’t tell Jascha’ (Heifetz, for whom Walton composed his
Violin Concerto). Renowned cellist Matthew Barley makes a welcome return to play this beautiful work. To finish, a true classic in Tchaikovsky’s 5th Symphony, overflowing with drama, sweeping melodies and emotional intensity from the very opening bars right through to the triumphant rollercoaster finale.

Saturday 7 December

Bristol Concert Orchestra

£15, £12, £8

A 5% booking fee applies online and over the phone. A £2 postage fee is charged where applicable.

Recommended age: 8+

Book now
Book Pre-Concert Food