Stefan Hofkes conductor
Ashley Wass piano

Rimsky-Korsakov The Tsar’s Bride Overture
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No 1
Stravinsky Petrushka (1947)

They say all the good things come in threes, and tonight we have a veritable Russian doll of music by three of that country’s finest composers – Rimsky-Korsakov’s Overture to The Tsar’s Bride (the opera which tells a dark tale of love, jealousy and betrayal) might be the smallest of that bunch, but two true giants vie for the position of top doll: Stravinksy’s Petrushka (his vivacious depiction of the love triangle between three puppets magically brought to life), and Tchaikovsky’s 1st Piano Concerto which immediately sets out its dramatic and intensely romantic intentions from the very opening thunderous chords.



Bristol Concert Orchestra / Ashley Wass

Saturday 17 March


£15 (£13), £12 (£10), £8 (£6), £1 U18s

A £1 postage fee is charged where applicable