Aaron Copland Fanfare for the Common Man
Joan Tower Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman
Benjamin Britten Violin Concerto Op 15 – soloist Ben Baker
Jean Sibelius Symphony No 2 in D major

Come and be inspired by music that reflects the human struggle for freedom and justice. Two contrasting fanfares will open the concert, representing the aspirations for equality among different groups. The Britten violin concerto explores Britten’s struggles with his own demons, where hope glimmers through a deeper sadness. Sibelius referred to his second symphony as a confession for the soul, while many saw the final triumphant movement as an expression of Finland’s hope for independence.


Sunday 10 March

Bristol Metropolitan Orchestra

£15, £12, £8, £5

A £1 postage fee is charged where applicable

Recommended Age: 8+

Book now