James Lisney piano

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Vier Impromptu D899
Vier Impromptu D935

James Lisney continues Endgame: a series of four recitals that focus upon the late works of Haydn, Beethoven, Schubert and Chopin. Provocative and endlessly satisfying piano music.

From 1827 are Schubert’s two sets of Impromptus, the first of them composed between the two halves of Winterreise. The title was not initially Schubert’s own but was suggested by the Viennese publisher Haslinger. Schubert almost certainly knew the Impromptus of Jan Václav Vorísek (which had become popular in the 1820s) and he was happy to use this title for both sets.

Schubert’s Impromptus are regarded as the ultimate in lyrical piano works, enjoyed individually or as today, as an extended set of eight pieces.

“a breath-taking interpretation of some of the last works of the great composers” 

Seen and Heard international (Endgame at St George’s)


Hospitality Packages

Enjoy delicious pre-concert drinks and nibbles ahead of the evening’s concert. Choose from a selection of house drinks on arrival accompanied by a board of bread, olives and dips (all vegetarian).

Due to covid-19 restrictions we’re only able to operate pre-booked table service in our bar area so we’ve put together food and drink packages to enjoy ahead of each concert.

This package for one or two people can be booked online alongside your ticket order, please also advise our team of any allergies.


Sunday 23 May 2021

James Lisney – Endgame IV – Schubert: The Impromptus

£20, £17.50

A 5% booking fee applies online and over the phone. A £2 postage fee is charged where applicable.

75 minutes

Recommended Age: 8+

Book now
Book Hospitality Package