Part of the Keyboard Festival

JS Bach 3 Fugues and 3 Canons from The Art of Fugue (arr. Esfahani)

Laurence Osborn Coin Op Automata

Henryk Gorecki Concerto for Harpsichord and Strings, Op. 40

Joseph Horovitz Jazz Concerto

Manchester Collective and Mahan Esfahani are known for challenging conventions around classical music: here, they present a truly international programme built around a thrilling work by a musical outsider Joseph Horovitz, whose sensational Jazz Concerto for harpsichord, strings and jazz kit defies easy description, much like harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani himself.

Laurence Osborn’s Coin Op Automata is inspired by sounds or voices which are simultaneously human and mechanical, like the sound of HAL 3000 as he pleads for his life in 2001: A Space Odyssey. Górecki’s breakneck Concerto for Harpsichord and Strings and a set of canons and fugues by Bach, arranged by Esfahani, complete the programme.

“A bold, perception-challenging programme of rich textural contrasts, every note illuminated by these incomparable musicians.” – Ikley Gazette

“Thrilling, inspiring and uplifting” ★★★★ The Yorkshire Post

This performance is approximately 60 minutes long, with no interval.


Hospitality Packages

Enjoy delicious pre-concert drinks and nibbles ahead of the evening’s concert. Choose from a selection of house drinks on arrival accompanied by a board of bread, olives and dips (all vegetarian).

Packages are available to collect from 60 minutes prior to the concert start time.

This package for one or two people can be booked online alongside your ticket order, please also advise our team of any allergies.

Friday 5 November 2021

Manchester Collective with Mahan Esfahani: Automota

£25, £20, £15, £10

A 5% booking fee applies online and over the phone. A £2 postage fee is charged where applicable.

Book now
Book Pre-Event Hospitality