Loading Events

William Goodchild conductor
Pavel Timofejevsky piano

Bizet L’Arlésienne Suite No 1
Ravel Piano Concerto in G
Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique

Pavel Timofejevsky, a multi-talented pianist, composer, conductor and lecturer, joins the orchestra to perform Ravel’s stunning piano concerto. Works by three very different composers comprise this summer concert, each one epitomising the French music of its day. We hear Ravel’s lyrical mastery of harmony and counterpoint, Bizet’s gift of melody and orchestration and Berlioz’s unusually orchestrated symphony in five movements with its idée fixe. This last work tells the story of a young musician poisoned by opium who imagines himself and his beloved at a ball, wandering through the countryside only to confront a nightmare scenario where he has killed her and must go to the gallows.

Pre-Concert Talk 6:30 -7 PM

There will be a talk about the works being performed given by Jonathan James in the Auditorium. Entry free to ticket-holders.

‘Magical Moments’ BRISTOL POST


Bristol Metropolitan Orchestra with Pavel Timofejevsky

Saturday 20 June


£15 (£14), £12 (£11), £8 (£6), £5 U16s (plus fees)

£1 administration fee charged per transaction plus £1 card transaction fee and 70p postage where applicable.