Tom Poster Piano
Nicholas Collon Conductor

Mozart Piano Concerto No 19 in F K459
Gershwin (arr. Farrington) Rhapsody in Blue (world premiere of arrangement)
Bartók (arr. Farrington) Suite from The Miraculous Mandarin
Prokofiev Symphony No 1 in D ‘Classical’

Reuniting with British pianist Tom Poster, we explore early 20th century expressions of modernity, pairing iconic works by Gershwin, Bartók and Prokofiev with Mozart’s radiant F major Piano Concerto.

Written in the bleak aftermath of World War I, Bartók’s pantomime ballet The Miraculous Mandarin depicts the dark underbelly of modern urban life, provocatively stirring up a scandal when it premiered. In contrast, across the Atlantic Gershwin shines a different light on urban modernity with Rhapsody in Blue, a piano concerto that grooves to the rhythms and sounds of the 1920s Jazz Age.

Complementing these two works, Prokofiev’s ‘Classical’ Symphony twists and turns with charm and delight in Haydnesque style, innovatively merging classical forms with modern harmonies. This neoclassical gem is paired with Mozart’s lively Piano Concerto in F performed by regular Aurora collaborator Tom Poster, known for his warm sound and thoughtful lyricism.

‘I was on the train, with its steely rhythms, its rattlety bang that is often so stimulating to a composer… And there I suddenly heard – and even saw on paper – the complete construction of the rhapsody, from beginning to end.’
George Gershwin, on Rhapsody in Blue


Friday 1 November

Aurora Orchestra with Tom Poster

£29, £26, £23, £15, £5 students*

A 5% booking fee applies online and over the phone. A £2 postage fee is charged where applicable.

Recommended Age: 8+

Book now