We are very sorry to announce the postponement of this event due to COVID-19. Our team is working hard to reschedule dates wherever possible, and our Box Office team will be in touch with ticketholders separately. Thank you for your understanding at this time.


Guy Johnston plays Barber

Catherine Larsen-Maguire Conductor
Guy Johnston Soloist

Barber Adagio for Strings
Barber Cello Concerto
Elgar Symphony No. 1

Guy Johnston combines a busy solo career with a position as Associate Professor of Cello at the Eastman school of music in New York. It seemed a perfect fit to choose an American theme for the first half of the concert which will open with Barber’s much-loved Adagio for strings – a work Toscanini described as ‘semplice e bella’. Barber was still in active service in the US Army Air Force when he undertook the commission to write a cello concerto in 1945. Whilst not as well known as the violin concerto, the cello concerto still demonstrates Barber’s lyrical style and careful craftsmanship of orchestral writing to support the virtuosic solo writing.

In the second half, Catherine Larsen-Maguire conducts Elgar’s 1st Symphony. The reviews at the time of its first performance in 1909 acknowledged the immediate universal appeal of the work. The Evening Standard wrote “Here we have the true Elgar … The composer has written a work of rare beauty, sensibility, and humanity, a work understandable by all.”

Why not pre-order a sharing platter or soup to enjoy ahead of the concert?

Bookable here or via the link above with your tickets, up to 48 hours ahead of the event.

With soup, bar snacks and ice cream available to order on the night.

Saturday 13 June

POSTPONED – Brandon Hill Chamber Orchestra & Guy Johnston – Barber & Elgar

£20, £18, £5 selected concessions available

A 5% booking fee applies online and over the phone. A £2 postage fee is charged where applicable.

Recommended Age: 8+