Norway-Day

 

Saturday 22 November


“The vast riches of Norway’s cultural scene can hardly be summed up in a day – but we’re going to have a try!” Fiona Talkington


Presented by Late Junction’s Fiona Talkington and generously supported by the Royal Norwegian Embassy, Scene Norway Plus is a day-long celebration of Norwegian music and culture, taking place at St George’s Bristol on Saturday 22 November…

2pm: Waffle Hearts

Norwegian children’s author Maria Parr makes a special visit to Bristol to join Fiona Talkington in reading and presenting stories from her acclaimed book ‘Waffle Hearts’: the adventures of nine year-olds Trille and Lena in their magical village of Mathildewick Cove. A runaway success both in Norway – where it has been adapted into a television series – and the UK, where Walker Books’ new paperback edition will appear just in time for this event, ‘Waffle Hearts’ conjures up a truly delightful world that playingbythebook.net has called “Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking….a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale…bold and brilliant.” Accompanied by music from members of JoKleBa, the event will last for approximately an hour.
Tickets £5; Family Ticket available – BOOK NOW
Suitable for ages 6 and over / Running time 60 mins (approx).

4pm: JoKleBa

Formed in Oslo in 1990, JoKleBa is the legendary supergroup of Norwegian jazz. The three original members (Per Jorgensen – trumpet, vocals, percussion; Audun Kleive, percussion; Jon Balke, piano, percussion) have been at the heart of many of the country’s most important musical developments, and this very special Bristol date forms part of their unique JoKoToUR: an ecological, low-carbon journey across Europe using only sustainable transport, and intended to highlight dynamic ideas of architecture and urbanism in “a synthesis of sound, space and environmental thinking”. The performance will be followed by a discussion with Fiona Talkington.  jokleba.no
Tickets £10 (or a special price of £15 for two concerts if booked with Ketil Bjornstad, saving £7) – BOOK NOW

6pm: Luca Vitali: The Sound of the North

Italian author, photographer and journalist Luca Vitali has been following Norwegian music as part of an intense personal journey into what he calls ‘the Sound of the North’. Especially for Scene Norway Plus, Luca presents an exhibition of portraits from his book, ‘Il Suono del Nord’, which documents the historical roots and contemporary flowering of new jazz in Norway. Exhibition public view in the Doric Room.
Free Admission to ticket holders.

7.30pm: Ketil Bjornstad

Pianist, composer, poet, novelist and author (on Edvard Munch and football, among other subjects) Ketil Bjornstad is one of Norway’s pre-eminent cultural figures. Trained as a classical pianist, he has made over fifty albums, including collaborations with many of the leading figures in Norwegian and Scandinavian jazz. Ken Loach and Jean-Luc Godard have featured his music in their films, and the sheer beauty of his ECM recordings has created a worldwide reputation for unclassifiable, classical-meets-jazz compositions comparable to that of Ludovico Einaudi. Tonight, in a two-part show with interval, Ketil combines solo performance with conversations about his life and work with Fiona Talkington. ketilbjornstad.com
Tickets £12 (or a special price of £15 for two concerts if booked with JoKleBa, saving £7) – BOOK NOW

Norway-Box
Amb logo engelsk London