Skip to main content


Brandon Hill Chamber Orchestra


From £20

A 9% booking fee applies online and over the phone. A £2 postage fee is charged where applicable.

Recommended age: 8+

An evening of sound spectrums – from the celestial world of MacMillan, through the sparkle of Tchaikovsky to the energy of Nielsen.

Conductor Andres Kaljuste
Violin solo Hans Christian Aavik

James MacMillan Larghetto
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Nielsen Symphony No 1

Hans Christian Aavik won the 2022 Carl Nielsen Violin Competition. He joins fellow Estonian, Andres Kaljuste, in a programme which combines Tchaikovsky’s virtuosic violin concerto with Nielsen’s innovative  1st Symphony.  Nielsen was a violinist and played in the 2nd violins in the  first performance of his symphony in 1894!

James MacMillan’s Larghetto, which opens the concert, is based on his a cappella choral work Miserere. Using the full range of orchestral colours MacMillan creates a characteristically ethereal world which still somehow retains the overtones of a choir.

Listen here to Hans in the new Deutsche Grammophon landmark series “Rising Stars” on STAGE+ and is featured in the Deutsche Grammophon “Musical Moments” series – listen here.

Andres is described by maestro Paavo Järvi as “blessed with trademark instinctive musicianship, a sensitive approach to sound and an ability to form an easy and natural bond with orchestral musicians”. See him in action with BHCO and Maria Włoszczowska here.


Pre-event Food & Drink

Enjoy delicious drinks and light bites from our Café Bar ahead of the event.

Available to pre-order when booking your tickets, you can choose from a selection of house drinks on arrival, accompanied by a board of bread, olives and dips (all Vegetarian). Just select which option – for one or two people – you would like, before checkout.

Your pre-ordered food and drink will be available to collect from the Café Bar from 60 minutes before the event. It’s the perfect way to begin your event experience at St George’s!