Unfortunately, due to staff sickness, our Box Office is currently closed. We apologise for any inconvenience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

This summer we’re working on our building to fix some issues and replant our green roof. Our Café Bar will run a reduced service from Monday 15 July. Our Box Office is open as normal.

Skip to main content

Bristol Metropolitan Orchestra

This event has passed.

Join us for a concert of music featuring compositions drawing on different traditions.

Sibelius Karelia Suite
Elgar Cello Concerto in E minor
Holmès La nuit et l’Amour
Lemba Symphony No 1 in C# minor

The longer works are the much loved cello concerto by Elgar in his most contemplative mood, almost quintessentially English music. In contrast there is the UK premier of Artur Lemba’s 1st symphony. Lemba was a major figure in the musical history of Estonia, as teacher, conductor and composer. The symphony, dating from 1908, explores different emotional landscapes and draws inspiration from Estonia’s natural beauty and cultural heritage.