PLEASE NOTE – this concert has been postponed due to unforeseen circumstances. Apologies for any inconvenience caused. Please contact the St George’s Box Office if you have any queries relating to tickets for this event.

Shostakovich  Festive Overture  Op. 96
Rachmaninov  Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor  Op. 18
Walton  Symphony No. 1 in B flat minor

BCP’s cycle of Rachmaninov’s piano
concertos with Serbian pianist Stefan Ciric
concludes tonight with the most famous of
them all: No 2. It has everything: drama,
mystery, romance, fireworks from the soloist
and an endless supply of melody.

BCP’s final concert in 2019 begins with
Shostakovich’s raucous Festive Overture;
written after the death of Stalin, this is
very much Shostakovich Unplugged.
The final work of the evening is Walton’s
volcanic 1st Symphony; the work that, at a
stroke, put Walton in the very top flight of
international composers. It, too, tells the story
of a love affair, and the majestic finale shows
Walton at his brilliant, ceremonial best.


Tom Gauterin – ‘a significant talent’

Sunday 17 November

POSTPONED: Bristol Classical Players

£18, £15, £10

A 5% booking fee applies online and over the phone. A £2 postage fee is charged where applicable.

Recommended Age: 8+