Maxin Rysanov Viola 

Dowland Lachrimae
Tansy Davies Residuum
Britten Lachrimae
Woolrich Ulysses Awakes
Schubert (arr. Mahler) Death & the Maiden

A bold, versatile and virtuosic ensemble, the unconducted group is built around a core of twelve of London’s finest chamber musicians – all bringing the excitement and creativity of a string quartet to this larger body of players.

Reborn, their bold new programme for 2018, explores how the old gives birth to the new: archaic ideas are given strikingly modern relevance through great artists influencing and inspiring one another. Tansy Davies’ brilliant Residuum is a thrilling work for strings inspired by John Dowland’s Lachrimae, the same work on which Britten based his own Lachrimae. In a cross-collaboration with choreographer Alexander Whitley, the ensemble have created a mesmerising film to accompany Woolrich’s Ulysses Awakes, screened behind them as they perform. And to end the programme, one of the greatest 
works written, Schubert’s Death & the Maiden, arranged here for string orchestra.

Friday 28 September

12 Ensemble – Reborn

£20, £15, £5 Students (Limited Availability)

A £1 postage fee is charged where applicable

Book now