Part of our BEETHOVEN 250 Celebration series

Rhian Lois Soprano
Jonathan Bloxham Conductor

Beethoven Ah! Perfido
R Strauss Metamorphosen
Beethoven Symphony No 3 in E flat, ‘Eroica’

In the 250th anniversary of his birth, Beethoven’s epoch-making Eroica symphony is paired here with Richard Strauss’s extraordinary lament for Germany at the end of World War Two. Written for the beautifully lush texture of 23 solo strings, Strauss weaves Beethoven’s Eroica funeral march into Metamorphosen’s closing bars, fusing Germanic musical eras with great emotional effect. Rising star Welsh soprano, Rhian Lois, opens with Beethoven’s dramatic concert aria Ah! Perfido (Ah! Deceiver) a showpiece work that Beethoven produced in his mid-20s.

Sunday 15 March

BBC National Orchestra of Wales – Beethoven’s ‘Eroica’ Symphony

£35, £30, £25, £20

A 5% booking fee applies online and over the phone. A £2 postage fee is charged where applicable.

Recommended Age: 14+

Book now